If you are a resident of the state of Kentucky you qualify for a free library card and accompanying key tag. This library card is good at all Warren County Public Library locations. Simply fill out an application and present it, along with valid photo identification, at any WCPL location.
Valid photo identification is required of all adults applying for a card. The identification must be issued by a government agency or organization, include a recognizable photograph, and be current.
If you do not possess a photo ID, you may obtain one by presenting your birth certificate and social security card at the circuit court clerk’s office in your home county; the ID costs $12 (as of 7/2005; subject to change) and is valid for four years.
If you do not have written proof of your current address, the Library will mail the card to verify your address.
Juvenile (under age 18)
A parent or legal guardian must be present when applying for a juvenile’s library card.
A parent of a juvenile applying for a library card must present his own valid photo identification sign the application. A non-parental guardian must present legal proof of guardianship in addition to his own valid photo identification and must sign the application.
On the juvenile’s application, the parent or guardian is asked to indicate whether the juvenile has permission to access the Internet on the Library’s computers. Permission will be denied if no preference is specified.
Persons living outside of the state of Kentucky are not eligible for free library cards for themselves and for immediate family members.
Non-residents who attend school or are employed in Kentucky are eligible for free library cards for themselves only.
Non-residents who do not qualify for a free library card may receive a library card by paying a $25 refundable fee. The fee is refunded by mail when the card is returned.
Patrons may have their library card at the time of application if they present verification of address. Verification may be in the form of a valid photo ID or recent (no older than three months) utility bill that includes the patron’s address. Patrons who do not present verification of address will receive their library cards in the mail.
You are responsible for the use of your card. You are responsible for any damage done to library materials in your care and agree to pay the replacement cost for materials that are lost or damaged while they are checked out on your card. You also agree to pay a fine of ten (10) cents per day for materials that are not returned on time.
When signing the application for a juvenile, that parent or legal guardian agrees to accept full responsibility for materials borrowed, for any fees generated due to loss or damage to such materials, and for any fines incurred by the juvenile. Lost or stolen cards should be reported immediately to the Library.
Lost or stolen cards may be replaced for $1. Even if you do not wish to obtain a replacement card, please notify the library immediately about lost or stolen cards so that we can prevent unauthorized use of your card.
Check Out Limits
Patrons* are permitted to check out a total of 50 items at one time. Newspapers and current magazines do not circulate. (*Temporary Patrons are limited to a total of 2 items at one time.)
- Books (no limit on books within the 50 items total per card) – 2 weeks
- Audio-books (no limit on audio-books within the 50 items total per card) – 2 weeks
- Music CDs (maximum–15 per card) – 2 weeks
- DVDs (maximum–15 per card) – 2 weeks
- Magazines (maximum–10 per card) – 2 weeks
- Digital Catalog titles (maximum 10 per card) – option of 7 or 14 days
Books, audio books, music CDs, and DVDs on loan may be renewed three times unless a hold request has been placed on the item. Digital titles may not be renewed. If an item may be renewed (*see NOTE below), you may renew it in person, by phone, via “Telecirc” access (call 270.781.2924), or through the online catalog.
*NOTE: You may be unable to renew items if you have blocks against your card due to fines. Additionally, an item with a hold request made by another patron may not be renewed.
There is a 10-cent charge per day per item on all overdue materials.