Change Language:

General Info

Classes are held inside the Idea Lab @ Bob Kirby. All classes are free unless stated otherwise. Classes should last between 45 min to 1 hr (except pottery sessions).

For more information about the lab, please visit our Idea Lab page.

Idea Lab class sizes are limited. Registration is required for all classes. Classes are designed for adults & teens.

Download a PDF list of classes: February | March | April

Decals & T-Shirts: Creating Custom Vinyl Projects

Learn how to use the vinyl cutter to create custom pieces and what type of vinyl best suits your project. Registration required. Ages 13+.

Click date to register

Thursday, February 21 @ 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 5 @ 6 p.m.

Monday, April 8 @ 6 p.m.

Intro to Pottery

This intro to pottery series includes a brief introduction to hand building and wheel throwing. All participants will create and glaze their own pieces before being fired in the kiln.

Please be sure you can attend all three dates and times listed on the event page.

Materials cost is $5 + tax. Registration required. Ages 13+. Teens (13-17) must have an accompanying adult register to attend any pottery class or series.

Click date to register

February: Series C —Fridays @ 1 p.m. – Feb 22, March 1, &  March 8 – [Full] – Wait List

March Series — Tuesdays @ 5 p.m. – March 19, March 26, & April 2

April: Series A — Thursdays @ 2:30 p.m. – April 4, April 11, &  April 18

April: Series B — Fridays @ 1 p.m. – April 5, April 12, & April 19

Custom Mugs & Shirts: Intro to Sublimation Printing

Learn how to use the sublimation printer to create custom pieces and what types of material best suit your project. Registration required. Ages 13+.

Click date to register

Monday, February 25 @ 6:30 p.m.

Monday, March 4 @ 6 p.m.

Monday, April 22 @ 6 p.m.

Intro to the 3D Printer

In this class you will learn the about programs used to create a 3D file, about the different file-sharing databases, and ultimately how to submit a file to printed on the MakerBot Replicator 3D printer. Registration required. Ages 13+.

Click date to register

Tuesday, February 26 @ 6:30 p.m.

Thursday, March 7 @ 3:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 9 @ 6 p.m.

Embroidery: Beyond the Basics

Go beyond the basics of embroidery and learn how to take your projects to the next level. Basic embroidery skills recommended. Registration required. Ages 13+.

Click date to register

Tuesday, Mach 12 @ 1 p.m.

Tuesday, April 30 @ 1 p.m.

Intro to the Sewing Machine

An introduction to the basic operations of our Brother sewing machine. Registration required. Ages 13+.

Click date to register

Thursday, March 14 @ 4 p.m.

Thursday, April 25 @ 4 p.m.

Pottery Crash Course

During this stand-alone, hour class, you will learn all the steps involved in creating a project using clay. You will handle clay (but not on the wheel) and create a piece that will be fired.

Materials cost is $2 + tax. Registration required. Ages 13+. Teens (13-17) must have an accompanying adult register to attend any pottery class or series.

Click date to register

Friday, March 15 @ 2 p.m.

Monday, March 18 @ 5 p.m.

Monday, April 29 @ 5 p.m.

Intro to the Embroidery Machine

An introduction to the basics of embroidery and the Brother Persona machine. Registration required. Ages 13+.

Click date to register

Thursday, March 21 @ 4 p.m.

Monday, April 15 @ 6 p.m.

Wednesday, April 24 @ 2 p.m.

Intro to the Tabletop CNC Router

An introduction to the Carvey tabletop CNC router and the Easel software.
Registration required. Ages 13+.

Click date to register

Monday, March 25 @ 6 p.m.

Tuesday, April 16 @ 6 p.m.